California's Domestic Violence Offense PenaltiesIf you are accused of domestic violence in California, you probably want to know what kind of punishment you might get if you are found guilty. Of course, you hope that the charges are dropped or that you are found not guilty after a trial, but you should be aware of the potential consequences if you are found guilty.

California Law On Domestic Violence Offenses

Domestic violence is addressed by two major penal codes in California law:

  • Section 243(e) – This is a misdemeanor battery charge on a cohabitant or spouse, which usually involves minor incidents. Penalties may include a $2,000 fine and up to a year in jail.
  • Section 273.5 – A misdemeanor or felony charge of corporal injury on a spouse or cohabitant that results in a traumatic condition can be brought under this section. Penalties can include up to one year in jail or up to five years in prison, as well as a fine of up to $10,000.

Other Penalties That May Be Imposed Include:

  • Probation – You may be sentenced to serve part or all of your sentence on probation. Probation frequently requires strict rules to be followed, and you may not own a firearm while on probation. You will also most likely be required to attend a batterer’s treatment program and pay restitution.
  • As previously stated, if you are on probation, you may be required to attend a state-approved program.
  • Victim restitution entails paying compensation for property damage, hospital bills, counseling, and other expenses. You may also be required to contribute to a fund for a battered women’s shelter.

These cases are usually very fact-specific. Your case’s facts will most likely determine whether you face misdemeanor or felony charges. A felony is more serious and has far-reaching implications both now and in the future. A felony conviction can have long-term consequences in your life.

Other Potential Consequences For Your Life

Direct legal consequences are not the only possible outcomes. A domestic violence conviction can impact your reputation, family relationships, and even your job. Certain licensed professionals may be called in front of their respective licensing boards. Green card holders may be deported. Custody arrangements between parents may change. You may be required to obey a restraining order. As a result of these factors, the specific charges you face and the outcome of your case are critical.

Legal Help From Marley Law Firm

If you are facing domestic violence charges, don’t take any chances that could affect your life in the long term; seek legal representation from Marley Law Firm by calling (949) 726-6000 today!